Quatrevingt-neuvième Jour: Neunundachtzigsten Tag : Tous sont sous neige!

Today (le 17e nov) It snowed a barrel of cats and then some! There is so much snow.  This is probably about at the extent of what a Vancouverite can handle, so yes….  I decided to brave it later in the day to get cheese (yes, only for cheese or honey or coconut milk would I brave bad weather), and slid the length of 2 city blocks.  Surf’s up? The snow is really wet like in Vancouver, but in a quantity one would find in the Okanagan…. and a month and a half early.  I thought I kind of overdid it when I bought my new winter coat – I look like an eskimo ready for hibernation in it- but much to my surprise lots of other people at the grocery store apparently had coats like this too.

wpid-20141117_144553.jpg

You can’t see in the photo, but it has been snowing sideways all day.  I actually saw a bus slide sideways the whole way across an intersection and onto the sidewalk diagonally on the other side of the itnersection…. oops. I am not excited to walk to school tomorrow after everything has frozen overnight and then melted a little bit in the morning. I am going to call walking on this slippery snow “Montreal surfing.”

I am going through a major diet re-examination right now, especially in light of the holidays coming up.  I really don’t want to be tempted by anything unnecessary or that isn’t actually one of my most favorite Christmas foods.  So…. I am going to try and post any new local winter foodie recipes I find, as some inspiration.  I have now cut all the grains out of my diet, so the majority of the food I am eating right now is:

For fruit: apples, pears, frozen blueberries. I do think eating some exports in the winter is a bit more acceptable, but I try to buy ones that are in season right now, not forced-grown…. so: oranges, kiwis, pineapple, mangoes.

For vegetables: Kale, radishes, cauliflower, zucchini, acorn/butternut/buttercup/spaghetti squashes, mushrooms, eggplant, garlic, ginger, green beans, and onions.

For starches: sweet potatoes, baby potatoes, yams.

For dairy: Goat yogurt.  I use goat cheese as a light condiment or ingredient in salad dressing.

For meat: Chicken thighs, ground grass-fed beef, ground pork, boneless pork shoulder, locally made sausages without additives or nitrates, cured pork or wild boar sausage. Local organic brown eggs.

For fats: Coconut oil, olive oil, avocados.

For liquids: White wine, coconut milk, coffee, black tea, peppermint tea

Today I made this amazing salad that I have to share! First of all, I bought the world’s largest cauliflower at the marché yesterday!

wpid-20141117_135908.jpg

So…. I have been looking up a lot of cauliflower recipes.  I tried making “rice” today.  You basically cut up the cauliflower into rice-appropriate sized pieces (much easier with a food processor than by hand, if you have a processor to use), and then you sauté them in olive oil and spices (I used whole cumin seeds and paprika) for about 7 minutes on medium heat. It does NOT taste like rice in terms of flavour …. but in terms of texture, maybe.  I quite despise cauliflower, but I am attempting to make myself like it this week.  Verdict on cauliflower rice: great to mix in with things!

SO, the salad I made:

I threw some chicken and boiled potatoes I have cooked earlier on a plate with my cauliflower rice, added radishes and kale, and made a dressing of vegan mayonnaise, lemon juice, feta cheese, Worcestershire sauce, pepper, roasted garlic, and drizzled the whole mess over it.  I served it with a small side of apple-orange-cranberry sauce I made, and the whole thing was just overly delicious.

wpid-20141117_151311.jpgwpid-20141117_151322.jpg

Highly suggest you try making this salad too! Tomorrow I hope to try making this:

http://www.thefirstmess.com/2014/01/23/vegan-sweet-potato-soup-with-coriander-blood-orange-recipe/

(Image c/o The First Mess at the link above)

sweetsoup_new

Happy Monday, and happy snowday! (Also happy birthday to my friend Véronique!!)

Here is some Tchaikovsky, to finish off the evening:

Leave a Reply

