Quarante-cinquième Jour – Il ya quelque chose chez moi

I can’t believe it is already just a week in advance of Thanksgiving. That was fast! We are entering my favorite period of the year: the lead up to Hallowe’en and then Christmas. January 2nd to Mother’s Day is the most boring part of the year in my opinion (with the exception of Valentine’s Day if you are a florist or chocolatier). But I love the time between October 1st and January 1st! The seasonal foods right now are many of my favorites as well: everything apple, pumpkin, pear, and pomegranate-oriented. I am making lots of pumpkin pancakes (sans farine pis sucre -without sugar or flour), drinking lots of coffee with a homemade pumpkin spice mixture, and baking lots and lots of apples.
I also always get excited when the first of the month rolls around because it means I change up my pilates routine. I practice the same stretches and moves for about a month, then switch it up to focus on different muscles for the next month. It is nice to get back into pilates again after taking about 6 months off from it. I have a noticeable difference in the amount of pain in my back since starting pilates again about 3 weeks ago. (far less pain! I had a bad car accident 7 years ago that left me with some lasting stiffness and I tend to get pain now if I don’t do some physical activity every day)

I leave you with my pumpkin pancake recipe. They are fantastic. You can also double the recipe and put the batter in muffin cups or a pie dish to make a “crust-less pie.”

5 heaping spoonfuls pureed pumpkin
1-2 eggs (2 eggs will yield a more well-formed and more aesthetically attractive pancake)
2 tsp mix of ground flax seeds and chia seeds
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp cloves
1 tsp vanilla extract or vanilla bean paste
1.5 tbsp protein powder (optional)
1-3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder (optional -for those days you NEED chocolate!)
1 tbsp maple syrup (optional -I don’t sweeten the pancake, I prefer them savory)

Cook in coconut oil in a frying pan, or Bake in muffin cups or pie dish at 350 F for approx 30-40 minutes.
I usually top them with fresh pomegranate seeds or sliced pears. You can use maple syrup but I like these not very sweet.

I also have a very big sleeping problem now: I can’t seem to get to sleep before 4am every night, and I don’t want to take any supplements or pills to solve this problem. I think I am kind of stressed, and that is causing me to dwell on things and night and I am unable to sleep. I literally don’t even feel tired until 3 or 4 in the morning, and I am still getting up around 8am. i hope I am not turning into the musician, Aphex Twin. (he purposefully only slept 2 hours a night to induce near-death hallucinations for writing music)

I managed to do very little today, sadly. (4 oct) I went to the Jean-Talon Marché, and the health food store Rachelle-Berry. I love this health food store. I found a tea there today that is exquisite! Chocolate + earl grey = I have a small explosion of happiness
20141004_210448

It also rained almost all day, and I had to change coats twice because I got soaked outside. Tomorrow I need to focus to get my work done, although hopefully there will also be time to grab a quick lunch with Thor. -and I need to practice flute!

In light of the fact it is now October I leave you with this:

Joyeux octobre!

Leave a Reply

